All About Armonk

North Castle Daily News

The Open Meetings Law

January 6, 2012
The Open Meetings Law (OML) in Article 7 of New York State Public Officers Law will go into effect on February 2, 2012. The legislation states that in order to retain control over public servants who make public policy, the citizens of New York must be informed.  According to the Department of State Committee on Open Government, "It is the only climate under which the commonwealth will prosper and enable the governmental process to operate for the benefit of those who created it."

Notices from the Town Board and the Board of Education of when and where they hold their meetings must be made public at least one week prior to the date of the meetings. The law also requires 24-hour advance notice of the supporting documents of the agendas. Minutes of the meeting are to be made public within two weeks of the meeting.

The Town of North Castle has been in compliance with the OML meeting broadcasting requirement via cable television --and more recently via web streaming on the town's website-- since Reese Berman was Town Supervisor.

The Town Boardís meetings are televised as follows:
Armonk and Banksville - CTV 20:
Tuesdays and Fridays at noon and Thursdays and Sundays at 8:30 p.m.
North White Plains - Channel 78: Fridays at noon and Sundays at 9:00 p.m.
Quarry Heights - Channel 75: Fridays at noon.

The Byram Hills School District posts the Board of Education meeting dates on the school website at Byramhills.org. The Board of Educationís meetings are also broadcasted via Bobcat Television, and can be viewed on both cable television and the districtís website. The meetings can be viewed on Verizon's channel 38 and Cablevision's channel 20 at the following times: Sundays at 8 am, Tuesdays at midnight, and Wednesdays at 5 pm.

North Castle's Town Clerk Anne Curran posts both the Town Boardís and the town advisory boardsí meeting dates: Planning, Architectural Review, Zoning and Conservation Boards on the town website, northcastleny.com. During the past year, the supporting documents have been attached to the Town Board's agendas. The Town Clerk's office also sends out email notices that include links to the agendas, with  supporting documents that appear on NorthCastleny.com. You can sign up for the Town's eNews at Northcastleny.com.

Under the OML legislation, both the Town Board and Board of Education's executive sessions that are held prior to the public meetings may remain closed to the public, with the exception of public members who are permitted. The executive meetings are restricted in the following matters: discussions of litigation, collective negotiations of the civil service, personal matters of town and school employees, matters which will endanger the public's safety if disclosed, and the proposed acquisition, sale or lease of property. No action by a formal vote shall be taken to appropriate public moneys in an executive session.

North Castle Public Notices

Town of North Castle


NORTH CASTLE TOWN BOARD
SPECIAL MEETING
MONDAY, MARCH 16, 2015
6:00 PM

AGENDA:
Consider amending the Special District Budget with regard to Sewer District No. 2 (Windmill Farm) and scheduling a Public Hearing on March 30, 2015.
 
Town Hall
15 Bedford Road
Armonk, NY

2015 Town Board Meeting Dates

Friday, January 2 - Swearing In
Ceremony
Wednesday, January 14
Wednesday, January 28
Wednesday, February 11
Wednesday, February 25
Wednesday, March 11
Wednesday, March 25
Wednesday, April 8
Wednesday, April 22
Wednesday, May 13
Wednesday, May 27
Wednesday, June 10
Wednesday, June 24
Wednesday, July 8
Wednesday, July 22
Wednesday, August 12
Wednesday, September 9
Thursday, September 24
Wednesday, October 7
Wednesday, October 21
Wednesday, November 4
Wednesday, November 18
Wednesday, December 9

Meetings are held in Town Hall, 15 Bedford Road, Armonk and begin
at 7:30 p.m., unless otherwise announced